Safer Cornwall & DAAT Training Programme Flyer A range of training opportunities to improve knowledge, skills and awareness

- Drugs & Alcohol
- Domestic Abuse & Sexual Violence
- Mental Health

Online & Face to Face Training

COURSE DATES

Drugs & Alcohol

For further details and to book a place, click on the course title below:

To enable staff across all organisations to identify alcohol-related problems using validated screening tool.

Course dates

  • Friday 8th March 2024 (online)
  • Friday 19th April 2024 (in person, Pydar House, Truro)
  • Tuesday 14th May 2024 (online)
  • Wednesday 12th June 2024 (online)
  • Friday 12th July 2024 (in person, Pydar House, Truro)

The purpose of this 2 hour workshop is to provide Pub and Bar Management and employees with key legal and practical training in regard to alcohol and related risks, drugs, drug use and drug users, and how to respond to complex incidents.

Duration: 2 hours | Trainer: Healthy Cornwall | Delivery: in person

Course dates

  • Thursday 7th March 2024
  • Thursday 4th April 2024
  • Wednesday 8th May 2024
  • Monday 10th June 2024
  • Tuesday 10th September 2024
  • Friday 11th October 2024
  • Thursday 7th November 2024

For people to be aware of the range of drugs, their effects and interventions available to help.

Course dates

  • Wednesday 28th February 2024
  • Thursday 14th March 2024
  • Tuesday 9th April 2024
  • Tuesday 21st May 2024
  • Tuesday 4th June 2024
  • Tuesday 9th July 2024
  • Tuesday 10th September 2024
  • Tuesday 15th October 2024
  • Tuesday 12th November 2024
  • Tuesday 10th December 2024
  • Tuesday 21st January 2025
  • Tuesday 18th February 2025
  • Tuesday 11th March 2025

(online and in person)
Supports professionals to increase their confidence around talking with young people about substance use and helps identify the appropriate interventions.

Course dates

  • Tuesday 27th February 2024 (online)
  • Tuesday 26th March 2024 (online)
  • Wednesday 17th April 2024 (in person)
  • Tuesday 14th May & Wednesday 15th May 2024 (online)
  • Tuesday 18th June 2024 (in person)
  • Tuesday 16th & Wednesday 17th July 2024 (online)
  • Wednesday 18th September 2024 (in person)
  • Monday 21st & Tuesday 22nd October 2024 (online)
  • Wednesday 13th November 2024 (in person)
  • Tuesday 28th & Wednesday 29th January 2025 (online)
  • Tuesday 25th February 2025 (in person)
  • Tuesday 18th & Wednesday 19th March 2025 (online)

(online)
To support and equip anyone working with the joint occurrence of mental health and substance use.

Course dates

  • 22nd & 26th February 2024
  • 18th & 22nd March 2024
  • 16th & 23rd May 2024
  • 24th & 31st July 2024
  • 7th & 14th October 2024
  • 3rd & 10th December 2024
  • 23rd & 30th January 2025
  • 7th & 14th February 2025
  • 4th & 11th March 2025

(online)
This client-centred approach is designed to help people find the motivation to make a positive behaviour change and is particularly effective for people who have mixed feelings about changing.

Course dates

  • 20th & 27th February 2024
  • 19th & 26th April 2024
  • 20th & 27th June 2024
  • 19th & 26th September 2024
  • 18th & 25th October 2024
  • 13th & 20th December 2024
  • 8th & 15th January 2025
  • 20th & 27th March 2025

(online)
To raise awareness of the increasing proliferation of crack cocaine, the associated risks and ways of engaging help.

Course dates

  • Friday 26th April 2024
  • Thursday 16th May 2024
  • Friday 7th June 2024
  • Thursday 18th July 2024
  • Friday 4th October 2024
  • Friday 29th November 2024
  • Friday 10th January 2025
  • Thursday 20th February 2025
  • Thursday 20th march 2025

Practical interventions to support people who have experienced trauma in adulthood to manage the effects of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).

Duration: 1 day | Trainer: Phil Harris | Delivery: online

Course dates

  • Monday 22nd April 2024
  • Friday 17th May 2024
  • Tuesday 3rd September 2024
  • Tuesday 10th September 2024
  • Thursday 7th November 2024
  • Thursday 14th November 2024

There are 3 levels of training which aim to provide the knowledge and skills to staff to provide the needle and syringe programme and safer injecting advice.

Trainer: Exchange Supplies | Delivery: e-learning

Free e-learning available from Exchange Supplies at: https://training.exchangesupplies.org/nsp_training

For more information on any of the above training courses please contact us: [email protected]


Domestic Abuse & Sexual Violence

For further details and to book a place, click on the course title below:

To provide professionals with the skills to safely challenge unacceptable behaviours.

Duration: 90 minutes | Trainer: Safer Futures

Course dates

  • Wednesday 6th March 2024 – Bystander Toolkit
  • Monday 11th March 2024 – for Professionals
  • Friday 19th April 2024 – Bystander Toolkit

(online)
To improve confidence in identifying and working with those engaging in abusive behaviours.

Duration: Half day | Trainer: Safer Futures

Course dates

  • Thursday 29th February 2024
  • Friday 22nd March 2024

Domestic abuse and sexual violence awareness raising, including coercion and control.

Duration: Half day | Trainer: Safer Futures

Course dates

  • Monday 18th March 2024
  • Thursday 11th April 2024
  • Wednesday 17th April 2024
  • Friday 24th May 2024

Identifying and responding to domestic abuse and sexual violence, including routine enquiry.

Duration: 2x Half days | Trainer: Safer Futures

Course dates

  • Thursday 4th & Friday 5th April 2024
  • Tuesday 7th & Wednesday 8th May 2024
  • Monday 10th & Tuesday 11th June 2024

More in-depth knowledge around domestic abuse and sexual violence, including MARAC (Multi-Agency Risk Assessment Conference), risk of suicide, DASH risk assessment and coercion and control.

Duration: 2x Half days | Trainer: Safer Futures

Course dates

  • Wednesday 20th & Thursday 21st March 2024
  • Monday 15th & Tuesday 16th April 2024
  • Tuesday 14th & Wednesday 15th May 2024
  • Tuesday 28th & Wednesday 29th May 2024
  • Monday 24th & Tuesday 25th June 2024

For more information or to book to place on any of the Domestic Abuse & Sexual Violence training courses please click on the Safer Futures Eventbrite links provided above (course title).

For those with no link please contact us on: [email protected]


Trauma Informed/Mental Health

To book onto a course, follow the information in the boxes below.

Duration: 2 days | Delivered by: Healthy Cornwall

Duration: 1 days | Delivered by: Healthy Cornwall

Duration: 4x half days | Delivered by: Healthy Cornwall

Duration: Half day | Delivered by: Healthy Cornwall

Duration: Half day | Delivered by: Healthy Cornwall

Duration: 2 Half days | Delivered by: Healthy Cornwall

Duration: 3.5 hours | Delivered by: Healthy Cornwall

Duration: 90 mins | Delivered by: Healthy Cornwall

Duration: 2 days | Delivered by: Healthy Cornwall

Duration: 3 hours | Delivered by: Healthy Cornwall

Duration: 2.5 days | Delivered by: Healthy Cornwall

Duration: TBC | Delivered by: Healthy Cornwall

Duration: 2/3 hours | Delivered by: The Sound Doctor

Duration: 2/3 hours | Delivered by: The Sound Doctor

Duration: 2/3 hours | Delivered by: The Sound Doctor

Duration: Varies | Delivered by: Rock Pool

Duration: 2 days | Delivered by: Kate Pordage Headstart Kernow

Duration: N/A | Delivered by: Headstart Kernow (via online Moodle Platform)

Duration: 20x 1hour workshops | Delivered by: HeadStart Kernow and Public Health

Duration: Adaptable | Delivered by: HeadStart Kernow

Duration: 30 mins | Delivered by: Zero Suicide Alliance

Duration: 1 day | Delivered by: TBC

Duration: Half day | Delivered by: Mr Mark Peel, Lucy Walsh/Paula Chappell

Together for Families Children & Families Core Curriculum:
Mental Health First Aid Youth

Duration: 4x Half days | Delivered by: Healthy Cornwall | Deliver: online

Together for Families, Cornwall Council Practitioners Only
Booking Info: Oracle

Together for Families Children & Families Core Curriculum:
Suicide First Aid

Duration: 2x Half days | Delivered by: Healthy Cornwall | Delivery: online

Together for Families, Cornwall Council Practitioners Only
Booking Info: Oracle

Together for Families Children & Families Core Curriculum:
Trauma Informed Practice

Duration: Half day | Delivered by: Headstart

Together for Families, Cornwall Council Practitioners Only
Booking Info:
Oracle

Together for Families Children & Families Core Curriculum:
Assessing & Addressing Adversity

Duration: Half day | Delivered by: James McGurk

Together for Families, Cornwall Council Practitioners Only
Booking Info: Oracle

For more information or to book to place on any of the Trauma Informed/Mental Health training courses please click on the website links in the boxes above or you can access the Healthy Cornwall Flyer here.


Email: [email protected]

Website: https://safercornwall.co.uk/safer-cornwall-daat-training-programme/